Who will be first 5 to sit on Sarawak’s new oil and gas company’s board?


Speculation is rife in Sarawak over who will be appointed as members of the board of Petros, following an announcement that five Sarawakians will be selected.

KUCHING: Now that Sarawak Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg has announced there will be five members of the board of the newly-formed Petroleum Sarawak Sdn Bhd (Petros), Sarawak’s own oil and gas company, speculation is rife over who the five will be.

All Abang Johari would say, for the moment, is that the five-member Petros board would comprise Sarawakians who have served in the oil and gas industry at one time or another, and that none of them would be a politician.

The Borneo Post has come up with a list of possible candidates, based on what Abang Johari said, and after talking to oil and gas industry players.

They are: CEO of Bintulu Port Holdings Bhd Mohammad Medan Abdullah, Pemandu Associate Sdn Bhd CEO Idris Jala, retired managing director of Shell Gas and Power Malaysia Heng Hock Cheng, Cagamas non-executive director Wee Yiaw Hin, Cahya Mata Sarawak Bhd group chief corporate officer Isaac Lugun, State Secretary Mohamad Morshidi Abdul Ghani, and Petra Energy Bhd executive director and CEO Anthony @ Firdauz Bujang.

Medan has more than 30 years experience working in the oil and gas industry, having served in various positions, including as managing director and CEO of Malaysia LNG Group of Companies between 2007 and 2010.

Idris Jala spent 23 years in Shell, rising up the ranks to hold senior positions, including as vice president of Shell Retail International and Business Development Consultancy based in the United Kingdom.

Heng retired from Shell in October 2006 after working 34 years in the industry, including as technical director of Sarawak Shell Berhad and chairman of Shell China based in Beijing, according to The Borneo Post.

Wee was attached to Shell for over 21 years in Malaysia and overseas, and served as managing director of Shell Malaysia exploration and production companies. He joined Petronas as executive vice president and CEO of upstream business in May 2010.

Isaac Lugun worked for eight years in various senior positions in the legal department of Petronas.

Mohamad Morshidi served as the management executive of Petronas from 1980 to 1988 and has been a Petronas director since Nov 1, 2016.

Anthony Bujang has held various positions in Sarawak Shell Berhad such as secretary and adviser to the major tenders board and head of general contracts and strategy, planning and procurement for Shell Gabon, Republic of Gabon, in West Africa.

The report also mentioned several other names as possibilities, including Ruslan Abdul Ghani, a senior general manager with Petronas and Janin Girie, the country chairman at Petronas Carigali Nile Ltd South Sudan.

Source: http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2017/08/11/who-will-be-first-5-to-sit-on-sarawaks-new-oil-and-gas-company/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here